Terra Alta Appellation

The “Terra Alta” Appellation was recognised provisionally in 1972. Together with Alella, Conca de Barberà, Empordà, Penedès, Priorat i Tarragona, and is one of the seven historic denominations of origin of Catalonia. The production and winegrowing area of the DO “Terra Alta” (DOTA) is situated to the south of Catalonia, between the River Ebro and the borders of Aragon and includes the 12 municipalities of the county of Terra Alta.